YRRC Hall of Fame

Requirements for Induction
The criteria for eligibility are as follows:

1. The nominee (living or deceased) must have been a member of the YRRC sometime between 1975 and 1998. We wish to include officers, trustees, runners, and non-runners whose membership in the Club’s early years helped make our organization the fine Club it is today.

2. Nominations must be made by mail either on a ballot or by letter. Extra ballots will be available at our runs for those wishing to nominate more than one candidate. On the ballot or in the letter, we ask that you list the achievements, attributes, or contributions these people have made to the YRRC that you feel would merit their inductions into our Hall of Fame. If the selection committee does not feel that someone nominated in this category has sufficient credentials, then this award will not be made for that year. Please be as specific as possible.

3. Any ballots or letters of nominations must be original, signed, and include a phone number to verify any information. No anonymous ballots or photocopies will be accepted. We also ask that if your nominee is no longer a member, please include their address and phone number if possible.

4. We will also consider inducting into our Hall of Fame an “honorary” member based on contributions to the running community as a whole. This might include a member or non-member whose running, volunteerism, race management or coaching has given a boost to running and/or racing in our area.  If the selection committee does not feel that someone nominated in this category has sufficient credentials, then this award will not be made for that year.



Wilma DePiore has been a consistent performer since her days as a Cross country runner for Ursuline High School and the University of South Carolina.  While a student/athlete at the University of South Carolina she was chosen that schools NCAA Runner of the Year.  DePiore still holds one of the best times in the 5K (17:35) & 10K (37:17) distances for USC.  While living in Charleston South Carolina she was instrumental in developing the Cooper River Bridge Kids Run.  During her Ursuline High School days DePiore ran a 5:09.4 in the 1600 meters and an 11:18 in the 3200 on the track.






Matt Folk started his running career at the Oregon, Ohio High School.  Folk continued that running career at Youngstown State University. While at YSU Folk was involved in 2 Conference Championships, qualifying for the 1998 Division I Cross Country National Championships.  Folk was the first YSU cross country runner to compete at the national level, a 2 time Mid Continent Conference Champion and was named the Vindicator Male Athlete of the Year in 1999.  Folk’s major accomplishments are:  2 time US Olympic Marathon Trials Qualifier (39th in 2007); Road Runners Club of America Open Male Runner of the Year in 2004, 2005 & 2007; 18th in 2007 USATF Club Cross Country Nationals; 15th at 2005 US 10 Mile Championships’; 6th at 2005 Penn Relays Olympic Development 5k (14:11); 9th at the 2004 USATF Club Cross Country Nationals; 1st 2009 Columbus Marathon and 1st 2009 Peace Race.  Folk was an Assistant Cross Country & Track Coach at Youngstown State University.  Nine of his teams were involve in conference championships during his 10 year tenure at YSU.




Carolyn DeChristofaro has been the Youngstown Road Runners Club Treasurer since 1998.  Under DeChristofaro’s stewardship the YRRC Treasury has maintained a constant and growing account.  DeChristofaro has volunteered for nearly all of the club-sponsored events since joining the club in 1996.  She is a member & cofounder of the Shoes For High School Cross Country Runners Program and a member of the YRRC Endowment to YSU.  DeChristofaro single handedly organized all of the YRRC’s marathon trips, has qualified for the Boston Marathon twice while running 8 marathons.






Lou Lodovico selected as an “honorary member” because of his outstanding performances during decades of running.  Lodovico is a resident of Ellwood City, Pa.  Since 1994 “Lodo” has been select as Masters Age Division Runner of the Year in 1994, 2000, 2006 & 2009 (85 – 89) by the USTAF.  Running Times Magazine has selected “Lodo” as its Masters Runner of the Year in 2005 (2nd), 2006 (1st), 2008 (2nd) and 2009 (1st).  “He didn't start running until he was in his 50's. Not just a top athlete but a role model for younger runners around him.”




Hall Of Fame Inductees (1999 - 2009)






Pat Malandra Don Smaltz
Jim Henderson Morren Greenburg
Dick Carlson Sherry Greenburg
Denise Losiewicz Elmer Good
Leonard Veith Judy Meredith
2001 2002
Bill Kerrigan Art Joachim
Bob Rozeski Jim Fox
Penny Pavelko Tony Parish
Tom Bresko  
2003 2004
Garry Sullivan Ken Kennedy
Gene Chiplock Rich Kempe
Mike Garcia  
2005 2006
Ken Jakubec Steve Hixson
Gaza Kochy Jim McKenna
Ron Voitus Mike Handel
  Ron Posey
2007 2008
No Inductees Ted Rupe
  Gary Camp
  Dan Shields
Guy Pizzoferrato  
Mark Courtney  

Adrian Mangino